top of page
  • Writer's pictureolivia showers

6 Products to Strengthen & Grow Your Nails

My nails to not grow. Like at all. They are fragile & thin, so they break and peel ALL THE TIME. I was out of ideas, so I took to instagram to ask my followers what they do to help keep their nails strong & long.



Here are some of the suggestions as well as the exact products that I am ordering & will be trying (follow me on instagram @oliviaxshowers to keep up with my trials!)


I have heard this before, but because I am all about saving money when I can, I thought that there were cheaper ways to try first. Yet, here we are.


"One of the major nail benefits of collagen peptides is the amino acid arginine, which carries nitric oxide through the capillaries and into the nail bed In short, collagen helps to feed the nail bed, helping to promote its health and growth." - Vital Proteins


My only gripe about collagen is that I do not like how the powder makes my coffee or smoothies taste when I mix it in.


But have no fear because Amazon has a solution !!



I am actually super excited about these. I already take other supplements in the morning, so adding this into my daily routine will be no problem


I will not lie, I did not love the idea of this when it was first suggested, but after some research, it actually sounded like a great option.


"Advocates suggest that their nail growth comes from the selenium in garlic – a mineral that basically makes our body do everything really well! But garlic is also an antioxidant, so it's possible that by overpowering trace toxins garlic frees up your nails to grow more." -Cosmopolitan


There is not much specification about how often to use this, but most people said that they would put it on every few days or as the polish started to wear or chip off.

I am worried about it smelling odd, but according to reviews, this isn't an issue.


I like the idea of these as well because similar to collagen, I can just add this into my daily routine of taking supplements.


These types of vitamins tend to come in pill form as well as gummy form, so there are options for those who do not like one or the other. I personally love gummy vitamins, so I wanted to try those.


The vitamins that I am purchasing say that they are for hair, but the properties that are helping strengthen & grow the hair are also beneficial for nails & skin.


~ biotin is a great ingredient for nail health, so make sure your vitamins have that too ~


This is another things that I have heard in the past but have never tried. Similar to other oils, there are protein properties that build up nail strength and promote growth.


"On top of keeping cuticles healthy, olive oil can actually help your nails grow. 'Because of the rich vitamin E olive oil contains, it is extremely moisturizing and easily absorbed, which makes it great for nail growth,'" - Women's Health


There are plenty of bottles of olive oil around that are specific to nails, but if I am being honest, I am just planning on pouring oil in a bowl & soaking my nail in it before going to bed.


One of the only things that I have used in the past is this OPI Nail Envy. When I use it consistently, I think that it really does help.


I use it every few days, or whenever I change my nail polish, I use it as a base coat. At this rate, I have to purchase a new bottle every 3 months which is not too bad.


I really like this polish because not only does it make my nails stronger, but it also encourages me to not pick at my nails because of the shiny coat on top. I like to keep it looking nice so even if I don't have colored polish on, I feel put together.


Another oil! I am thinking the same thing that you might be... do all of these different oils do anything different? Honestly right now I have no idea! I am in a trial phase too, but I wanted to share these items as soon as I heard about them.


But as far as Castor Oil goes, it helps especially to fight thin & brittle nails!


"Some of the omega fatty acids and protein present in the castor oil helps in the speedy growth of nails. The presence of vitamin E in the oil boosts nail health. Apply a few drops of castor oil before sleeping and leave them overnight. This will improve your nail growth and you will see the results in a couple of days." - Hello Lidy


Results in a couple days sounds great to me! So I am willing to give it a try.

 

I am super excited to try all of these new products! Hopefully with some patience & help from some supplements, we can all have beautiful, strong nails!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

hello hello everyone.

im olivia showers (but may also be referred to as liv, via, o, & the girl who should have no business being a lifestyle blogger). Long story short, I am a 19 year old vegetarian, coffee & music loving, confused business major trying to figure out how to do this thing called life. so after all of that...

welcome & i hope that you stick around

MOroCcO.jpg

Subscribe to

my newsletter

for fun extras!

you are all set !!

bottom of page